Muscle tissues

Cardiac striated muscle tissue

Main features

The human body has four main types of tissues (epithelial, connective, muscular and nervous). Muscle tissues have mainly the functions of movement, contraction of organs and support of the human body (auxiliary function in conjunction with bones). Muscle tissues have mesodermal origin. Muscle tissue cells have an elongated shape and are called muscle fibers.

Muscle fibers (muscle tissue cells) have the capacity for distension and contraction, movements possible thanks to the large amount of protein filaments (myosin and actin) present in these fibers.

Types of Muscle Tissues

Cardiac striated tissue

- present in the heart.

- involuntary contraction.

- have striated myocytes (with 1 or 2 central nuclei).

- present rhythmic muscle contraction.

Skeletal striated tissue

- composed of multinucleated myocytes (several nuclei).

- present transverse and longitudinal striations.

- are present in skeletal muscles.

- voluntary contraction.

Plain fabric (not striated)

- are present in the arteries, stomach, intestines and esophagus.

- have mononucleated myocytes (only one central nucleus).

- the stretch marks are longitudinal.

- responsible for the peristaltic movements of the human body.

Last reviewed: 12/17/2018

By Elaine Barbosa de Souza
Undergraduate student in Biological Sciences, Methodist University of São Paulo.